Denver CO Lawyers
What Is Criminal Menacing?

What Is Criminal Menacing?

What do DUI, DUID, DWI, and DWUI have in common? They all refer to driving while under the influence charges, but each acronym has prevalence in different states. This diversification stems from the fact that each state has its own set of laws and unique vocabulary with which to explain those laws, and this is precisely why Colorado has menacing charges.

Menacing Charges

Menacing is the legal term Colorado uses for what many other states call assault. Colorado prosecutors can charge people with criminal menacing when they threaten or express intention to harm or inflict pain on someone else.

As with assault charges in other states, menacing can be committed with a weapon or with words. Prosecutors will only have to prove beyond a reasonable doubt that a suspect knowingly placed someone in fear of imminent bodily injury, even if the accused never laid a hand on the victim.

Potential Penalties for Menacing

The potential penalty for menacing can be found here, “a person who knowingly places or attempts to place another in fear of imminent serious bodily injury by any threat or physical action commits a class 3 misdemeanor.”

A class 3 misdemeanor can result in the following penalties:

  • A minimum fine of $50, but it can be up to $750; or
  • Up to 6 months in jail; or
  • Both penalties.

Accused of Criminal Menacing?

Unfortunately, many people accuse others of criminal menacing over simple misunderstandings. If you or a loved one are accused of criminal menacing, our firm can help you fight for your case. There’s no reason you should plead guilty to a crime before talking to a lawyer, especially when it’s free!

Call (720) 445-9887 today for a free consultation with the Law Office of Kevin Cahill regarding your criminal case!

The Help You Need

Request your FREE consultation and get the help you need to move forward.

    1385 South Colorado Blvd. Suite A-720
    Denver, CO 80222

    Denver Criminal Defense Divider