What Happens: Underage DUI Convictions
One night, one night is all it takes for someone to go from a perfectly clean record to a DUI charge. Regardless of the circumstances surrounding the charge, prosecutors take DUIs seriously, and they typically call for severe consequences. So what repercussions does a juvenile face when a judge convicts him or her of an underage DUI charge?
Consequences of an Underage DUI Conviction
Colorado, like most states, has a “zero tolerance” policy when it comes to underage drinking and driving. Any juvenile found to have a BAC above 0.02% while behind the wheel is likely to face an underage DUI conviction.
Underage drinking or driving (UDD) first-offense conviction can result in consequences such as:
- Fine up to $150,
- Three-month suspension of a driver’s license,
- Four points on Colorado driving record,
- Community service up to 24 hours, and
- Education and treatment program for alcohol or drugs (at your own expense).
It is important to note that a first-offense UDD conviction is a Colorado class A traffic infraction. Therefore, it is not considered a crime under Colorado law; subsequent convictions, however, are misdemeanor criminal offenses.
A second and subsequent UDD conviction can result in consequences such as:
- 10-90 days in jail,
- Fine of up to $300.
Fighting for Your Rights
Many people believe that juvenile DUI convictions aren’t a big deal: clearly this is not the case. The consequences and ramifications of a UDD conviction can have lasting impacts on a juvenile for years to come. If you or a loved one are charged with a UDD, it is crucial that you fight for your rights.
Attorney Kevin Cahill has been fighting for the rights of individuals for decades. If you want experienced representation for your case, contact the Law Office of Kevin Cahill now!
Call (720) 548-2990 now for a free consultation concerning your UDD case.