What Are the Penalties for a DUI in Denver?
The penalties for driving under the influence (DUI) can be very serious, especially under certain circumstances. If you are currently facing DUI charges for driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol, make sure you know what you are up against and what you can do to defend your rights. Below, we explain the potential penalties for DUI convictions and how our attorney can help.
Anyone over the age of 21 found driving with a blood alcohol content of .08% or higher is considered impaired and could, therefore, face DUI charges. Drivers under the age of 21 are considered impaired if their blood alcohol content reaches .02%.
Individuals arrested for DUI will face immediate license suspension through the Colorado Davison of Motor Vehicles. You have 7 days after the suspension to request a hearing in order to protect your license, which is why it is so important to all your criminal defense lawyer immediately after your arrest. The guidance of an experienced attorney who understands DUI laws in Colorado can make all the difference in the success of your case.
On a DUI first offense, individuals may receive a license revocation for 9 months and up to $1,000 in fines. The court may also order up to 1 year in jail and a maximum of 96 hours of mandatory community service, as well as an alcohol education class. However, individuals with repeat offenses could face much harsher penalties.
If you were recently arrested for DUI, contact our firm immediately. Attorney Kevin Cahill has a thorough understanding of DUI laws in Colorado and can work to ensure your rights and freedoms are protected.
For a free consultation, contact the Law Office of Kevin Cahill.