Denver Prostitution Lawyer
World’s Oldest Profession Not Tolerated in Colorado
Though often acknowledged as the world’s oldest profession, prostitution is considered a serious crime by Colorado law. In our state, both buying and selling sex are criminal offenses. During recent years, Colorado law enforcement officials have cracked down on prostitution-related crimes, regularly staging undercover stings and monitoring social media sites for signs of offenders.
There are many different ways you can be charged with prostitution, solicitation, or a prostitution-related crime in Colorado. Penalties for these types of crimes are severe in our state, and may include prison or jail time, as well as heavy fines. But perhaps the most serious consequence of all is the stain that a sex crime conviction will leave on your permanent record. And the social stigma associated with being charged with either prostitution or soliciting could result in a loss of marriage, job, and friends.
If you are charged with prostitution, solicitation, or a related offense, do not risk tough consequences and lifelong damage to your reputation. A skilled Denver prostitution defense lawyer with experience in this kind of case can help aggressively defend you against the charges discreetly.
Different Types of Prostitution-Related Charges in Colorado
There are a variety of different criminal activities in Glendale, Englewood, and beyond that can result in a sex crimes charge. Below, we have listed some of the most common prostitution-related crimes, along with their possible penalties.
- Prostitution. You can be charged with prostitution if you perform, offer, or agree to any kind of sexual act for money or something of value with anyone other than your spouse. In Colorado, the crime is a Class 3 misdemeanor and carries a possible jail sentence of up to six months, and a fine of up to $750.
- Solicitation of a prostitute. Solicitation of a prostitute occurs when someone requests or arranges a meeting with another with the intention of engaging in sexual activity in exchange for money or anything of value. Soliciting a prostitute is a Class 3 misdemeanor, and penalties can include a jail sentence of up to six months and up to $750 in fines.
- Patronizing prostitutes. You can be charged with patronizing a prostitute once you have already committed a sexual activity with him or her. You may also be charged with patronizing if you visit a brothel with the intention to engage in a sexual act. Patronizing a prostitute is a Class 1 misdemeanor, and may include penalties of up to 18 months in jail and a fine of up to $5,000. If you are convicted, you may also be required to pay an additional fine of up to $5,000 to an anti-prostitution organization.
- Pimping. Pimping occurs when someone knowingly profits—either directly or indirectly— from the earnings of another’s prostitution activities. Pimping is a Class 3 felony, and carries potential for incarceration in a state prison for up to 12 years and up to $750,000 in fines.
- Pandering. Pandering occurs when someone forces or coerces someone into prostitution through violence, intimidation, or encouragement. You could also be charged with pandering for arranging or offering to arrange a situation where a person may practice prostitution.
- Forcing through intimidation is a Class 5 felony, and punishable by up to three years in prison and up to $100,000 in fines. Arranging prostitution is a Class 3 misdemeanor and punishable by up to six months in jail and up to $750 in fines.
- Making a display. You can be charged with the criminal offense of making a display if you do or say anything that promotes prostitution in a public space. Prostitute making display is a Class 1 petty offense, and carries potential for up to six months in jail and up to a $750 fine.
- Child Prostitution. Prostitution crime charges, such as patronizing and soliciting, are elevated when they involve someone under the age of 18. You can be charged with this type of offense even if you were unaware that the child was under the age of 18. Patronizing a child prostitute is a Class 3 felony, and punishable by up to 12 years in prison and a $750,000 fine. Those who are convicted are also required to register as sex offenders in Colorado, and may lose their teaching credentials or teaching license.
- Prostitution and Patronizing while Infected with HIV. If you engage in prostitution or patronize a prostitute while you know you are infected with HIV, the penalties for these crimes become much harsher. Anyone who is convicted of prostitution or patronizing is required to be tested for HIV. Being infected while patronizing a prostitute is a Class 5 felony, and may be penalized with one to three years in prison and up to $100,000 in fines. Patronizing a prostitute while infected with HIV is a Class 6 felony, and may be punished by up to 18 months in prison and $100,000 in fines.
Any type of prostitution-related charge carries devastating and life-altering consequences, including incarceration, heavy fines, and a criminal record. If you have been charged with a prostitution-related crime in Colorado, it is imperative to enlist the aid of a Denver sex crime attorney.
Contact Kevin Cahill for Fearless Representation for Any Type of Prostitution-Related Sex Crime
Being accused of prostitution, soliciting, or any other prostitution-related crime can be frightening, upsetting, and embarrassing. Kevin Cahill, an aggressive Denver prostitution lawyer, understands the precariousness these types of charges, and can work to have your charges reduced or dropped with speed, discretion, and expertise.
Mr. Cahill has defended the rights of clients throughout Denver, Glendale, Englewood, and beyond, fighting hard to protect their freedom and honor. Contact Mr. Cahill at (720) 548-2990 or fill out our online form to discuss your options and begin planning your hard-hitting defense strategy today.